Going for Gold

Do you strive for perfection and look to go beyond expectations in your exams? You could be the next recipient of an LIA Gold Medal award for academic achievement.  

For many of us getting over the line to pass an exam is more than enough to rejoice. But to recognise the highest standards of academic achievement through our educational programmes, LIA has developed a number of Gold Medal awards for students who have shown exceptional merit and consistency through their course of study.

The three programmes of study for which LIA provides Gold Medals are as follows:

Trish Nolan QFA Award

This is awarded to students who maintain a minimum mark of 80% over the course of the six QFA modules which make up the Professional Diploma in Financial Advice. Attaining the Trish Nolan QFA Award is as much test of endurance as academic endeavour, with all modules to be completed within two academic years.

The award is named after the late Trish Nolan in recognition of the role she played in LIA’s education programmes, especially the QFA.

Credit Union Gold Medal Awards 

The Credit Union Movement has embraced the educational offering that LIA provides with over 1,000 Credit Union staff and directors having gone through LIA educational programmes. In recognition of the study and dedication these members have put in to achieving the CUA, CUG and CUC designations, two Credit Union Gold Medals have been established.

RPA Gold Medal Award

The RPA Gold Medal award is presented to a RPAs who have succeeded in gaining over 80% in both the RPA I and RPA II exams. The RPA is one of LIA’s specialist designations which surpasses minimum competency requirements and is designed for those who wish to take their knowledge in the area financial planning for retirement beyond MCC levels. As a result, the recipient of this award will have shown tremendous dedication and achievement through their studies.

PTP Gold Medal Award

The latest of our gold medal awards for those undertaking the PTP. As with the RPA award this is an LIA specialist designation. The course is designed for those acting or wanting to act as a trustee of a defined contribution occupational pension scheme or Trust RAC, as well as a Pensioneer Trustee. 

Criteria for awards

The below documents list the criteria and eligibility requirements for each of our Gold medal awards:

Trish Nolan QFA

Credit Union